A Day in the Life of an Evening & Weekend Berkeley MBA Student

Have you been wondering what life would be like as an EWMBA student?  Below is a glimpse into the day in the life of Claudia Martinez, a current student and President of the Evening & Weekend Berkeley MBA Association (EWMBAA), the EWMBA student leadership committee.

5:30 a.m. My alarm goes off; I wake up, make a vanilla chai tea, skim through my Wall Street Journal and head off to my workout class.

7:15 a.m. I start work from home. Today I have an off-site meeting at SFO (San Francisco International Airport) at 10:30 a.m. My company is pursuing a 10-year multi-million dollar contract, and this meeting is with client representatives about the Terminal 1 Redevelopment Program support services contract.

10:20 a.m. I arrive at  SFO. The meeting is at the museum in the International Terminal. I see a lot of familiar faces including a former co-worker who was part of another SFO project while I was there in the early 2000s. After the meeting, my former co-worker and I decide to grab lunch at one of the restaurants in the terminal and talk about potentially teaming on this contract.

1:15 p.m. I’m back to work in the East Bay. I respond to emails and follow up on other work deadlines. Today I need to get to campus by 4:45 p.m. to meet the career management services director at 5:00 p.m. I recently got elected Evening & Weekend MBA Association president, and the outgoing president has scheduled various meetings with department heads to introduce me and transition responsibilities.

4:43 p.m. On the way up to my meeting on the 4th floor at Haas, two classmates and the new student experience director stop me to talk about ideas for my term and transition details. So much to do, I have to force myself to say that we’ll need to connect later or else I’ll be late to my meeting.

5:00 p.m. My meeting with the career management services director and current president is productive. We talk about the importance of student feedback to improve current services.

6:05 p.m. I’m just in time for Entrepreneurship class. Tonight’s class is all about presenting the first three minutes of our VC (venture capital) presentation. Our actual VC presentation is coming up in about a week. My team has been practicing, so we’re confident we will do well. Our idea is about providing a complete solution to manage group trips, including real time updates that will keep the group in sync during a trip. This class has been a lot of work because we needed to validate our idea with tons of market research. All teams have come a long way from the first time they presented. After each presentation, everyone provides feedback to the team. Our team gets some very useful information.

7:30 p.m. During break we run to the Faculty Club to get a glass of wine, some food and to relax a bit. We talk about what we have left to do and what we will be doing during the winter break. From joining the Asia trek to traveling to Australia or Latin America, we are all really looking forward to it!

9:30 p.m. Class ends, but I stick around to talk to some of the members of the EWMBAA executive team about the survey we will be sending this week to the student body to enlist students to become EWMBA Association committee VPs and members.

10:30 p.m. When I get home, I catch up with my husband. We’re planning our two-week winter vacation to visit my family in Michoacán, México and travel through San Miguel De Allende, on our way to the beach in Zihuatanejo, and then spend a few days in Mexico City or DF as we call it. We have some friends we will be meeting in DF, so we’re excited to see them! I also send a few more emails specifically regarding an exciting idea that came up during a diverging exercise for my Problem Finding/Problem Solving final about using iPads and e-books versus hard cover books.

11:43 p.m. I’m done! I have another long day tomorrow with lots of deadlines. I’m really enjoying my time at Berkeley-Haas. And though I would prefer not to sleep, I can’t deny needing some sleep to function the next day……

Claudia Martinez Soto (2014)
EWMBAA President

One thought on “A Day in the Life of an Evening & Weekend Berkeley MBA Student

Leave a Reply

